Dorothy’s Next Installment

I wrote my next installment as Dot for Dorothy: Locked and Loaded.  It was fun, and I really didn’t want to stop at a mere 2,200 words, but we have our limitations on this piece, or else we’d each be writing our own entire books from our individual perspectives.  I could have doubled the word count easily on this installment.

In this episode, Dot is grateful for bottled water, takes Toto and Alice for a walk, calculates the science of the Yellow Brick Road, and discovers new surprises at every turn.

The character of Dot isn’t a stretch for me.  In fact, building her character is a bit of a purging exercise.  Much of who I used to be is written into her thought process. 

This project has helped me develop discipline.  Oh, I have it in regard to work, but in my own writing, it is lacking.  I seem to find other things to think about.  But, as I told a friend of mine last night, with Dot we’re responsible to each other, our attention to everyone else’s details play into it, and we are in a queue that requires that we take our turn relatively promptly.   Granted, we are relaxed and there is no stress, but for me, to be responsible to others is a necessary element these days, in order to write.

I feel like writing today, but not a one of the other manuscripts is reaching out to me farther than the other.  All four are jumping up and down screaming “Pick me!  Pick me!” 

I need a dartboard.

About The Inimitable M

But you see, it's *not* all about me. It's about books, films, life, the cat, my kids, my partner, my business. Oh, and Steampunk. Really
This entry was posted in Dorothy: Locked and Loaded and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dorothy’s Next Installment

  1. Sue McGoo says:

    I don’t know if this would work for you, but sometimes when nothing jumps out, I draw a picture for a while instead. The cogs turn by themselves and usually things are less jumbled when I return to writing.

  2. aardvarkian says:

    You are amazing xoxo

Leave a comment